Foto Credits: Ken Friedl (4), TUM (2)

 

 

Description

The convergence between engineering and neurobiology brings about new discoveries in the brain as well as innovations for future neuroprosthetics and brain-technologies-interfaces. In addition, applying knowledge from the neuro world will be exploited to investigate design methods and architectures for improving technical systems out of the neuro application domains. As a new interdisciplinary center, the CoC for Neuro-Engineering brings new capabilities to the growing research community at TUM, with state-of-the-art computational and fabrication facilities for developing novel technologies that will benefit a wide range of societal needs, such as health care and active ageing.

Mission & Goals

Understanding how the brain reacts to sensory stimuli, encodes perceived and abstract information, reasons on such information and generates behavior from previous experience will be the core research question of the center: Neuronal information processing from sensory input to behavior, and its implementation in technology. We link this closely to medicine (such as neuro-muscular rehabilitation, or active sensing and acting prostheses) but also to technical systems, where an understanding of neuronal style of distributed information processing will give rise to the next large leap in computing performance (such as massively parallel processing systems with intertwined processing and storage).

The center will be a multidisciplinary research endeavor in the cross-border area of neuroscience and application-oriented engineering – closely interacting with biology, zoology, medicine; and thereby providing a bridge to ongoing activities beyond TUM’s existing strong engineering disciplines, enabling access to neurological programs such as of LMU, BCCN.

The center will offer breadth and depth in NeuroEngineering research and will be attractive in education with growing programs for young engineers. They share the common goal of analyzing the function of the nervous system, developing methods to restore damaged neurological function, and creating artificial neuronal systems by integrating physical, chemical, mathematical, biological, and engineering tools.

Core Competencies

  • Neuro-Medical electronics
  • Neuro-Sensory systems and information processing in visual, auditory and haptic domains
  • Closed loop Neural Perception-Cognition-Action Systems
  • Bio-sensors
  • Brain-Machine and Brain-Computer Interfaces
  • Neuro-based electronics
  • Neuronal data processing
  • Self-organizing multi-core processors

Research

  • Neuronal circuits and information processing at the systemic level for technical implementation (such as robotics) and medical settings (such as prosthesis, BMI/BCI)
  • (Neural) Systems-on-chip
  • Bio-Sensors
  • Neuro-Rehabilitation
  • Neural computation
  • Autonomic and organic computing

Projects

Existing:

  • Various BCCN projects (Buss, Cheng, Conradt, Hemmert, Kleinsteuber, Seeber)
  • EU projects / collaborations (Buss, Cheng, Conradt, Lugli, Scarpa)
    • e.g. CONTEST (Lugli und Cheng), GRIDMAP (Conradt), OLIMPIA (Lugli und Scarpa)

Completed projects:

  • Autonomous System on Chip (DFG priority program 1183)

Foto Credits: Ken Friedl (4), TUM (2)

 

 

Beschreibung

Ein Zusammenführen von Ingenieuren und Neurobiologen wird einerseits besseres Verständnis über das Gehirnfunktionalität ermöglichen, andererseits aber auch Innovationen hin zu zukünftigen Neuroprothesen und allgemein einer Schnittstelle zwischen Gehirn und Technik öffnen. Desweiteren werden Kenntnisse aus der Welt der Neurobiologie die Entwicklung neuer Methoden und Architekturen für technische Systeme und Anwendungen ausserhalb der Neurotechnologie ermöglichen. Das neue interdisziplinäre Kompetenz-­Zentrum „Neuro-­Engineering“ öffnet der wachsenden Forschungsgemeinde in München und speziell an der TUM neue Möglichkeiten, z.B. durch gemeinsame Nutzung von IT Infrastruktur und Fabrikationsanlagen für neue Technologien, um eine große Bandbreite sozialer Anforderungen zu adressieren (bspw. im Gesundheitswesen oder im Bereich der alternden Gesellschaft).

Ziele

Ein tieferes Verstehen wie Gehirne auf sensorische Reize reagieren, diese abstrakt als „Erfahrungen“ repräsentieren, und daraus Verhalten erzeugen wird die Kernfrage des Zentrums: Neuronale Informationsverarbeitung von sensorischen Eingängen hin zu erzeugtem Verhalten, und dessen Implementierung in technischen Systemen. Wir verbinden dieses eng mit medizinischer Forschung (wie bspw. neuromuskulärer Rehabilitation oder aktiven Prothesen), aber auch mit technischen Systemen, in denen Prinzipien der Neuronalen Informationsverarbeitung einen großen technischen Fortschritt ermöglichen (z.B. durch massive parallele Informationsverarbeitung mit verteiltem lokalen Speicher).

Das Zentrum deckt ein multidisziplinäres Forschungsfeld an der Schnittstelle zwischen Neurowissenschaften und anwendungsorientierter Technik ab, das eng mit Biologen, Psychologen und Medizinern kooperiert und somit eine Öffnung von TUMs starkem vorhandenem Ingenieurbereich zu neurowissenschaftlicher Forschung (bspw. LMU oder BCCN) ermöglicht.

Das Zentrum wird das Forschungsgebiet „Neuro-Engineering“ in Breite und Tiefe abdecken, und damit besonders attraktiv für die Ausbildung Studierender sein. Darin angesprochene Studierende zeichnen sich durch ein interdisziplinäres Interesse an dem Verständnis neuronaler Informationsverarbeitung im technischen sowie medizinischen Kontext aus, zu dem physikalische, chemische, mathematische, biologische und Prinzipien aus dem Ingenieurbereich beitragen.

Hauptkompetenzen

  • Neuro-Medizinische Elektronik
  • Neuro-Sensorische Systeme und Informationsverarbeitung im visuellen, auditorischen und haptischen Bereichen
  • Regelschleifen in „Perception-Cognition-Action“ Systemen
  • Bio-Sensoren
  • Brain-Machine and Brain-Computer Interfaces
  • Neuro-basierte Elektronik
  • Neuronale Datenverarbeitung
  • Selbst-organisierende Mehrkernprozessoren

Forschung

  • Neuronale Schaltungen und Informationsverarbeitung im Systemlevel für technische Anwendungen (z.B. Robotik) und im medizinischen Bereich (z.B. Prothesen oder BMI/BCI)
  • (Neuro-) Systeme auf Chip
  • Bio-Sensoren
  • Neuro-Rehabilitation
  • Neuronale Informationsverarbeitung
  • Autonomic and Organic Computing

Projekte

Laufende Projekte:

  • Verschiedene BCCN Projekte (Buss, Cheng, Conradt, Hemmert, Kleinsteuber, Seeber)
  • EU Projekte / Kooperationen (Buss, Cheng, Conradt, Lugli, Scarpa)
    • e.g. CONTEST (Lugli und Cheng), GRIDMAP (Conradt), OLIMPIA (Lugli und Scarpa)

AbgeschlosseneProjekte:

  • Autonomous System on Chip (DFG Schwerpunktprogramm 1183)