adveisor - FAQ

General

What is adveisor?

adveisor is the soft skill program for electrical engineers at the TUM. Within this program, students of higher semester - the adveisors - propagate their knowledge on various soft skill topics (e.g. project management, conflict management, public speaking, effective communication) to freshmen - the adveisees. With this knowledge the adveisees are faced an electrical engineering project, which they have to tackle on their own in the adjacent semester.

What is the rough course of an adveisor year?

In the winter semester, small groups will attend workshops organized and held by students of higher semesters (adveisors). Soft skill topics such as rhetoric, feedback or stress management play a central role within these sessions. During the winter term, the adveisee team develops a project plan tackling a dedicated electrical project and present it to a jury consisting of professors and TUM-employees. Based on the feedback of the jury, the project plan is refined by the teams. In the following summer semester, the focus is on the realization and implementation of the project plan into practice. At the end of the summer term, all teams will present their results at a public final event and let their projects compete against each other.

The "ei" in adveisor

We are often asked whether the "ei" in adveisor is a misspelling. No, of course not! The "ei" stands for our department EI - "Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik" (Electrical and Computer Engineering).

Why is there a torch in the adveisor logo?

The torch in the program adveisor is symbolic for the knowledge and experience that will be propagated like an Olympic fire and for entitlement to educate young people in a way that they will go ahead as shining example in working life.

Application

Who can apply as adveisee?

All freshmen of the Bachelor program Electrical Engineering and Information Technology at TUM.

Who can apply as adveisor?

All students of the Bachelor program (at least second semester) or Master's program Electrical Engineering and Information Technology.

Is it necessary to participate as adveisee to become an adveisor?

No, for the participation as adveisor you must not have been an adveisee.

When does the module "adveisor training" or "adveisor tutorial" take place?

The program always starts in the winter semester and extends to the end of the following summer semester. Therefore, the adveisor training and tutorial lasts about one year.

When will I be informed whether my application as adveisee was successful?

Not later than Tuesday after application deadline you will receive an acceptance or rejection notification.

Participation as adveisee

When will the workshops take place?

The workshops take place weekly in the first semester. We try to offer two different workshop appointments on each working day. At the kickoff meeting you opt in for any of the appointment dates. This date remains the same during the whole semester and also determines the grouping. Unfortunately, we can only take lectures and central exercises into account when offering appointments.

Can I go to different workshop appointments each week?

No, you opt in for an appointment and thus a fixed adveisor. A change is not possible, since each adveisor designs his workshop individually with a unique character and ordering of topics.

What is a rough estimate of the time spent on adveisor as adveisee?

In the first semester you visit the weekly workshop. In addition, you create an individual project plan together with your adveisee group, which you will present at the end of the first semester.

In the second semester you implement your project. Commonly, these tasks are tackled in self-organized group meetings. Additionally, five meetings (including 3 milestone meetings) with your adveisor support your project progress.

In brief, what are the benefits of a participation as adveisee?

The participation as adveisee is the entrance to more...

...contacts.

...experiences.

...new friendships.

...learning groups.

...technical practice.

...joy of studying.

...generic competences.

...community.

Work as adveisor

What are the duties of the adveisors?

During the winter semester, the adveisors organize and carry out workshops on topics from the field of soft skills for their adveisee group. In order to be prepared for this, all adveisors are trained beforehand by two professional coaches within seminars.

In the summer semester each adveisor accompanies his/her group during the realization phase of their project. In addition to the group support, every adveisor has to take care of an individual area of responsibility concerning the whole adveisor program. Examples include the areas PR and program coordination. During an adveisor year, various events have to be organized, such as kickoffs, an adveisor generation meeting or the final event. The adveisors are responsible for the realization and organization of those events.

When will the seminars with the coaches take place?

Most of the seminars will be held in the semester break.

And when exactly?

As adveisor one attends 4+1 seminars. A rough guide is given below:

  • Module I:   Right before the start of the lecture period of the winter term (4 days)
  • Module II:  On a weekend right at the begin of the winter term (3 days)
  • Module III: Before the start of the lecture period of the summer term (4 days)
  • Module IV: On a working day during the summer semester (1 day)
  • PM-Seminar: On a Saturday in November (1 day)

When will I receive the 500€?

The 500€ salary will be paid in the summer semester.

Study Services

How many ECTS do I get as adveisee/freshmen?

The program adveisor is a "Vertiefendes Wahlmodul" for freshmen students and covers 5 ECTS within this module.

How many ECTS includes the work as adveisor and how are they applied?

The module "adveisor Training" corresponds to a workload of 6 ECTS, which can be applied as "Fächerübergreifende Ingenieursqualifikationen" (interdisciplinary engineering qualifications) during bachelor studies. Thus adveisor alone covers all the required credits within this module.

In the master's program, adveisor's 6 ECTS can be applied in the module "Außerfachliche Ergänzung", if it has not been applied during the bachelor studies.

adveisor - FAQ

Allgemein

Was ist adveisor?

adveisor ist das Soft Skill Programm der Fakultät für Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik der TUM. Dabei vermitteln Studierende höherer Semester, die adveisoren, ihr Wissen zu verschiedenen Soft Skill Themen (z.B. Projektmanagement, Konfliktmanagement, Rhetorik, effiziente Kommunikation) an Erstsemester, sogenannte adveisees. Mit diesen Kenntnissen dürfen die adveisees im darauffolgenden Semester ein elektrotechnisches Projekt selbstständig bewältigen.

Wie läuft das adveisor Jahr grob ab?

Im Wintersemester finden in Kleingruppen Workshops statt, die von einem Studenten aus einem höheren Semester (adveisor) gehalten werden. Dabei spielen Soft Skill Themen wie Rhetorik, Feedback oder auch Stressbewältigung eine zentrale Rolle. Während des Wintersemesters erarbeitet das adveisee Team einen Projektplan zu einem gestellten elektrotechnischen Projekt und präsentiert ihn einer Jury von Professoren und TUM-Angestellten. Anhand des Feedbacks der Jury wird der Projektplan optimiert. Im darauffolgenden Sommersemester liegt der Fokus auf der Realisierung und Umsetzung des Projektplans in die Praxis. Am Ende des Sommersemesters stellen alle Teams ihre Ergebnisse bei einer öffentlichen Abschlussveranstaltung vor und lassen Ihre Projekte im Wettbewerb gegeneinander antreten.

Das "ei" in adveisor

Oft werden wir gefragt ob das "ei" in adveisor ein Rechtschreibfehler ist. Nein natürlich nicht! Das "ei" steht für unsere Fakultät EI - Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik.

Was hat es mit der Fackel im Logo auf sich?

Die Fackel im Programm adveisor steht symbolisch für Wissen und Erfahrung, welche wie ein olympisches Feuer weitergegeben werden und für den Anspruch, junge Menschen dafür auszubilden, im Berufsleben einmal mit leuchtendem Beispiel voranzugehen.

Bewerbung

Wer kann sich als adveisee bewerben?

Alle Erstsemester des Bachelorstudiengangs Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik der TUM.

Wer kann sich als adveisor bewerben?

Alle Studierenden des Bachelorstudiengangs (ab dem zweiten Semester) oder Masterstudienganges Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik . 

Muss ich als adveisee teilgenommen haben, um ein adveisor zu werden?

Nein, für die Teilnahme als adveisor muss man nicht adveisee gewesen sein.

Wann findet das Modul "adveisor Training" bzw. "adveisor Tutorium" statt?

Das Programm beginnt immer im Wintersemester und erstreckt sich bis zum Ende des darauffolgenden Sommersemesters. Das adveisor Training und Tutorium dauert also fast ein Jahr.

Wann erfahre ich, ob meine Bewerbung als adveisee erfolgreich war?

Spätestens Dienstag nach Bewerbungsschluss erhalten Sie von uns eine Zu- oder Absage.

Teilnahme als adveisee

Wann finden die Workshops statt?

Die Workshops finden wöchentlich im ersten Semester statt. Es wird versucht, zwei unterschiedliche Workshoptermine an jedem Wochentag anzubieten. Am KickOff entscheiden Sie sich für einen Termin. Dieser Termin bleibt das Semester über gleich und bestimmt auch die Gruppeneinteilung. Leider können wir beim Terminangebot nur auf Vorlesungen und Zentralübungen Rücksicht nehmen.

Handelt es sich um ein Schienensystem?

Nein, Sie entscheiden sich für einen Termin und damit einen festen adveisor. Ein Wechsel ist nicht möglich, den die adveisoren gestalten ihre Workshops individuell mit ihrem eigenem Charakter.

Wie ist der grobe zeitliche Aufwand?

Im ersten Semester besuchen Sie den wöchentlichen Workshop. Nebenbei erstellen Sie in der Gruppe individuell ihren Projektplan. Diesen präsentieren Sie am Ende des ersten Semesters.

Im zweiten Semester realisieren Sie ihr Projekt. In selbstorganisierten Treffen bearbeiten Sie die Aufgaben. Fünf Treffen inkl. 3 Meilensteintreffen mit Ihrem adveisor unterstützen Ihren Projektfortschritt.

Kurz und knapp, was bringt mir die Teilnahme als adveisee wirklich?

Die Teilnahme als adveisee ist der Einstieg zu mehr...

...Kontakten.

...Erfahrungen.

...neuen Freundschaften.

...Lerngruppen.

...technischer Praxis.

...Freude am Studieren.

...überfachlichen Kompetenzen.

...Gemeinschaft.

Arbeit als adveisor

Was sind die Aufgaben des adveisors?

Als adveisor bereitet man im Wintersemester Workshops zu Themen aus dem Bereich Soft Skills vor und hält sie für seine/ihre Gruppe. Dazu werden alle adveisoren vorher von zwei professionellen Trainern in Seminaren ausgebildet.

Im Sommersemester begleitet der adveisor seine Gruppe bei dem jeweiligen Projekt.
Neben der Betreuung der adveisees ist jeder adveisor für einen Verantwortungsbereich, der das gesamte Programm betrifft, zuständig. Beispiele dafür sind die Bereiche PR und Programmkoordination. Während des adveisor Jahres kommt die Organisation von unterschiedlichen Veranstaltungen, wie KickOffs, adveisor Generationentreffen oder die Abschlussveranstaltung dazu. Für die Durchführung und Planung der Veranstaltungen sind die adveisoren verantwortlich.

Wann finden die Seminare mit den Trainern statt?

Der Großteil findet in der vorlesungsfreien Zeit statt.

Und wann genau?

Als adveisor nimmt man an 4+1 Seminaren teil. Eine grober Anhaltspunkt ist im Folgenden gegeben:

  • Modul I:   Unmittelbar vor dem Start der Vorlesungszeit des Wintersemesters (4 Tage)
  • Modul II:  An einem Wochenende zu Beginn der Vorlesungszeit des Wintersemesters (3 Tage)
  • Modul III: Vor dem Start der Vorlesungszeit des Sommersemesters (4 Tage)
  • Modul IV: An einem Werktag während des Sommersemesters (1 Tag)
  • PM-Seminar: An einem Samstag im November (1 Tag)

Wann erhalte ich die 500 €?

Die 500 € Gehalt werden im Sommersemester in 2 Monaten ausbezahlt.

Leistungen

Wie viele ECTS bekomme ich als adveisee/Erstsemester?

Das Programm adveisor ist für Erstsemester ein "Vertiefendes Wahlmodul" und deckt darin 5 ECTS ab.

Wie viele ECTS beinhaltet adveisor und wie werden diese eingebracht?

Das Modul „adveisor Training“ entspricht einem Arbeitsaufwand von 6 ECTS, die man als "Fächerübergreifende Ingenieursqualifikationen" im Bachelorstudium einbringen kann. Damit deckt adveisor alle FIQ-Credits ab. Auch im Masterstudium kann adveisor mit 6 ECTS im Bereich "Außerfachliche Ergänzung" eingebracht werden, sofern es im Bachelor noch nicht als FIQ eingebracht wurde.