Team Simulation

The focus within the simulation team lies on the detailed description and characterization of lithium-ion cells. On the one hand, modeling and simulation tools are used to describe electrochemical, thermal, and mechanical effects. For that purpose, coupled models based on partial differential equations are developed. On the other hand, different characterization methods for lithium-ion cells are utilized and advanced to parameterize and validate these models. The investigated topics range from the cell design over optimized operation strategies to the examination of aging mechanisms.

Current research topics:

  • Evaluation of cells with new active materials
  • Mechanical bracing of cells within test benches
  • Characterization via coulometry and calorimetry
  • Optimization of cell design and tab placement
  • Coupling of electrochemical and mechanical models
  • Aging analysis and Lifetime forecast
Team members
Aufschläger, Andreas; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26975 andreas.aufschlaeger@tum.de room 1015 Portrait
Durdel, Axel; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26961 axel.durdel@tum.de room 1018 kein Bild
Frank, Alexander; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26984 alexander.af.frank@tum.de room 1020 Portrait
Friedrich, Sven; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26961 sven.friedrich@tum.de room 1018 Portrait
Hamar, Jacob; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26967 jacob.hamar@tum.de room 1016 Portrait
Kunz, Alexander; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26991 alexander.kunz@tum.de room 1020 Portrait
Moyassari Sardehaei, Erfan; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26974 erfan.moyassari@tum.de room 1019 Portrait
Roth, Thomas; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26972 thomas.roth@tum.de room 1019 Portrait
Scheller, Maximilian; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26984 maximilian.scheller@tum.de room 1020 Portrait
Spingler, Franz; Dipl.-Ing. (Univ.) +49 (89) 289 - 26962 franz.spingler@tum.de room 1019 Portrait
Streck, Luiza; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26960 luiza.streck@tum.de room 1014 Portrait
Zhao, Yulong; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26983 yulong.zhao@tum.de room 1008 Portrait