Team Simulation

In the field of simulation, the detailed description of lithium-ion cells is the main task. In particular, it involves to determine internal cell variables such as concentrations, potentials and current densities. For that, coupled models are built on the basis of partial differential equations solved with the help of commercial software (COMSOL Multiphysics, Ansys, Matlab). The interaction of electrochemical and thermal behaviour is in focus, since it is crucial for understanding cell behaviour. In summary, our main topics are:

  • Cell design tools and active material databases
  • Optimisation of geometries and material combinations in lithium-based systems
  • Modelling of dynamic and long lasting effects, also in frequency domain
  • Development of coupled 3D models
  • Model optimization and reduction
  • Simulation on particle level for investigation of microscopic effects
  • Safety and aging simulation
  • Simulation of cell-cell interaction in modules
  • Validation techniques, in particular infrared measurements of surface temperature
Team members
Aufschläger, Andreas; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26975 andreas.aufschlaeger@tum.de room 1015 Portrait
Durdel, Axel; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26961 axel.durdel@tum.de room 1018 kein Bild
Frank, Alexander; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26984 alexander.af.frank@tum.de room 1020 Portrait
Friedrich, Sven; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26961 sven.friedrich@tum.de room 1018 Portrait
Hamar, Jacob; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26967 jacob.hamar@tum.de room 1016 Portrait
Kraft, Ludwig; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26975 ludwig.kraft@tum.de room 1015 Portrait
Kunz, Alexander; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26984 alexander.kunz@tum.de room 1020 Portrait
Moyassari Sardehaei, Erfan; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26974 erfan.moyassari@tum.de room 1019 Portrait
Roth, Thomas; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26972 thomas.roth@tum.de room 1019 Portrait
Scheller, Maximilian; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26984 maximilian.scheller@tum.de room 1020 Portrait
Schindler, Markus; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26988 markus.ms.schindler@tum.de room 1021 Portrait
Spingler, Franz; Dipl.-Ing. (Univ.) +49 (89) 289 - 26962 franz.spingler@tum.de room 1019 Portrait
Streck, Luiza; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26960 luiza.streck@tum.de room 1014 Portrait
Zhao, Yulong; M.Sc. +49 (89) 289 - 26983 yulong.zhao@tum.de room 1008 Portrait