Awards at LMT

  • Kurt-Fischer Award for Nicolas Alt
    Nicolas Alt received the Kurt-Fischer Award for his PhD thesis "Visuo-haptic environment perception for Haptic Communications autonomous robotic systems".
  • People's Choice Award
    Matti Strese, Clemens Schuwerk and Dmytro Bobkov have received the "People's Choice Award" for their Android App "Remote Texture Exploration" at the Student Innovation Challenge during the IEEE World Haptics Conference 2015 in Chicago.
  • ERC Proof-of-Concept Grant RoVi
    The Chair of Media Technology receives a Proof-of-Concept Grant for the project "RoVi: a robotic manipulator with visuo-haptic sensing". The TUM press release can be found at Press Release.
  • Kurt-Fischer Award for Matti Strese
    Matti Strese received the Kurt Fischer Award of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Engineering for his outstanding diploma thesis "Content-based Texture Retrieval" which he prepared at LMT.
  • Prof. Steinbach elevated to IEEE Fellow
  • Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award for Prof. Martin Reisslein (Arizona State University, USA)
  • Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship 2014
    Dominik Van Opdenbosch has received a Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship 2014 from Qualcomm Research Germany for his innovation proposal “Camera-based indoor positioning using scalable streaming of compressed binary image signatures”.
  • Best Poster Award at the Haptics Symposium 2014
    for the paper Clemens Schuwerk, Rahul Chaudhari and Eckehard Steinbach, "Delay Compensation in Shared Haptic Virtual Environments", Proceedings of the IEEE Haptics Symposium 2014 (HAPTICS), Houston, February 2014.
  • VDI Dissertation Award for Dr. Georg Schroth
    Georg Schroth has received the VDI 2013 Award for his outstanding dissertation on  "Mobile Visual Location Recognition".
  • Top 10% Paper Award at MMSP 2013
    for the paper Jianshu Chao, Anas Al-Nuaimi, Georg Schroth and Eckehard Steinbach, "Performance Comparison of Various Feature Detector-descriptor Combinations for Content-based Image Retrieval with JPEG-encoded Query Images," 15th International Workshop on Multimedia Signal Processing (MMSP 2013), Pula (Sardinia), Italy, Sept. 30-Oct. 2, 2013.
  • TUM IdeAward
    NAVVIS was awarded the TUM IdeAward for their innovative indoor positioning technology. This annual competition is organized by Technische Universität MünchenUnternehmerTUM GmbH, and Zeidler-Forschungs-Stiftung. The award aims to encourage researchers to set up their own innovative and competitive start-up enterprises.
  • VDE-Award 2012
    Der VDE Südbayern zeichnete Sebastian Hilsenbecks Diplomarbeit am Lehrstuhl für Medientechnik "Exploiting Text-related Features for Content-based Image Retrieval" mit dem VDE-Award 2012 in der Kategorie "Wissenschaft" aus.
  • Kurt Fischer Dissertationspreis für Herrn Dr. Julius Kammerl
    Herr Dr.-Ing. Julius Kammerl wurde am Tag der Fakultät 2012 mit dem Kurt-Fischer Dissertationspreis für seine Arbeit zum Thema „Perceptual Haptic Data Communication for Telepresence and Teleaction“ ausgezeichnet.
  • Forschungspreis Technische Kommunikation 2011
    der Alcatel-Lucent Stiftung für Kommunikationsforschung for Eckehard Steinbach
  • ERC Starting Grant for Eckehard Steinbach 
    The European Research Council has awarded an ERC Starting Grant to Prof. Steinbach for his project proposal PROHAPTICS which deals with haptic signal processing and communication in telepresence and telemanipulation systems. The ERC grant starts on January 1st, 2011, and comes with a funding of 1.5 million euros for a project duration of 5 years. (press release TUM)
  • Chorafas Award for Hu Chen 
    Hu Chen has received the Chorafas Award 2010 at the yearly "Tag der Fakultät" of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology for his outstanding research on "Low Complexity Bayer-Pattern Multiview Video Coding" which he performed at LMT as part of his PhD work.
  • Kurt Fischer Diploma Award for Robert Huitl 
    Robert Huitl has received the Kurt Fischer Diploma Award 2010 at the yearly "Tag der Fakultät" of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology for his outstanding diploma thesis "Fast Image Retrieval for Mobile Location Recognition" which he prepared at LMT. During his diploma thesis he was supervised by Georg Schroth.
  • Humboldt Research Award for Prof. Chang Wen Chen 
    Prof. Chang Wen Chen from New York State University at Buffalo is the recipient of a Humboldt Research Award. This prestigious award has been granted to Prof. Chen in recognition of his past accomplishments in research and teaching. As part of the award, Prof. Chen will spend a total of 6-12 months over the next years at the Chair of Media Technology at TU Muenchen.
  • ITG Award 2009 for the sequel of papers: 
    I. Bauermann and E. Steinbach, "RDTC optimized compression of image-based scene representations (Part I): Modeling and theoretical analysis," IEEE Trans. on Image Processing, Volume 17, Issue 5, pp. 709 - 723, May 2008. 
    I. Bauermann and E. Steinbach, "RDTC optimized compression of image-based scene representations (Part II): Practical coding," IEEE Trans. on Image Processing, Volume 17, Issue 5, pp. 724 - 736, May 2008.
  • E.ON Future Award 2009 
    for the Master Thesis of Anas Al-Nuaimi Visual Localization and Navigation using Rapid Feature Matching
  • VDE Award 2009 for Nicolas Alt
  • Best Student Paper Award at SPIE VCIP 2009
    for the paper H. Chen, Mingzhe Sun, and E. Steinbach, "Low-Complexity Bayer-Pattern Video Compression using Distributed Video Coding," SPIE Visual Communications and Image Processing (VCIP 2009), San Jose, Jan. 20-22, 2009
  • Best Technology Paper Award at WorldHaptics 2009
    for the paper I. Vittorias, J. Kammerl, S. Hirche, and E. Steinbach, "Perceptual Coding of Haptic Data in Time-delayed Teleoperation," Third Joint Eurohaptics Conference and Symposium on Haptic Interfaces for Virtual Environment and Teleoperator Systems (WorldHaptics 2009), Salt Lake City, USA, March 18-20, 2009
  • Best Paper Award at Packet Video Workshop 2007
    for the paper Guenther Liebl, Wei Tu, and Eckehard Steinbach, "Proxy-Based Transmission Strategies for Wireless Video Streaming," 16th International Packet Video Workshop, Lausanne, Switzerland, November, 2007.
  • E.ON Future Award 2007 for the Bachelor Thesis of Georg Schroth
  • Graduation Award 2006 for Hu Chen
  • DAAD award 2006 for Amal Benzina
  • Best poster award at IFAC 2005
    for the paper S. Hirche, M. Buss, P. Hinterseer, and E. Steinbach, "Towards Deadband Control in Networked Teleoperation Systems,"16th International Federation of Automatic Control World Congress, IFAC '05, Prague, July 4-8, 2005.
  • Edison Prize Bronze Medal 2005 for the Master Thesis of Aditya Mavlankar