The German Research Foundation (DFG) has awarded the 2018 Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize to Antonia Wachter-Zeh, Professor of Coding for Communications and Data Storage. Wachter-Zeh has been conducting research and... [more]

Tobias Prinz is the recipient of the 2018 Prof. Dr. Ralf Kötter Memorial Award for his outstanding Master thesis entitled "Polar Codes for Higher-Order Modulation and Probabilistic Amplitude Shaping”. The award,... [more]

Dr. Georg Böcherer of the Chair of Communications Engineering of the Technical University of Munich (TUM) is the recipient of the Johann-Philipp-Reis Award of the Information Technology Society (ITG) of the... [more]

Tobias Fehenberger has been awarded a Graduate Student Fellowship Award by the IEEE Photonics Society for his “very impressive accomplishments and academic record”. Tobias will receive his award during the... [more]

Eitan Yaakobi from the Technion - Israel Institute of Technology won a prestigious August-Wilhelm Scheer Visiting Professorship, funded by the Excellence Initiative. The August-Wilhelm Scheer Visiting... [more]

Camilla Hollanti from Aalto University in Finland was awarded a prestigious TUM IAS Hans Fischer Fellowship. This fellowship is aimed at outstanding early-career international scientists who intend to explore... [more]

Prof. Gerhard Kramer was awarded a Alexander von Humboldt-Professorship in Berlin on May 12th 2011. On May 16th 2011 he additionally received the Innovation Award of the Vodafone Foundation in Düsseldorf. ... [more]

Tobias Lutz was awarded the Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship (QInF) 2012 for his research proposal "Construction of Robust Timing Codes for Noisy Half-Duplex Relay Networks". The goal of the fellowship is to... [more]

Michael Heindlmaier was awarded the Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship (QInF) 2013 for his research proposal "Implementation and Optimization of Noisy Network Coding Schemes". The goal of the fellowship is to enable... [more]

The mobile network operator E-Plus annually gives an award for the best PhD dissertation in the area of communications engineering at the RWTH Aachen University. This year Georg Böcherer received the award for... [more]