Emmy-Noether Working Group: Theoretical Quantum System Design (TQSD)

Group leader and supervisor: Dr Janis Nötzel

The working group develops theoretical foundations of quantum system design.

This includes the application of analytical methods to problems motivated by practical system design. The research agenda includes the following four main topics:

  1. Emulation of future hybrid quantum communication networks. We have developed an emulator for this purpose. Our goal is to facilitate the interaction of theoretically and experimentally oriented groups and thus accelerate the design of new quantum communication networks.
  2. Quantum system design, in particular the interaction of the different resources that can be used for high data rates and reliable communication. We have demonstrated the impact of entanglement-assisted communication on the network layer of a hypothetical hybrid quantum communication network.
  3. Investigating new potential use cases enabled by adding quantum communication resources to current communication systems. Here we were able to prove the existence of extreme potential of entanglement-assisted modulation in hybrid communication systems.
  4. Secure message transmission over quantum channels.


We acknowledge funding by the DFG via grant NO 1129/2-1 and by the Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung via grant 16KIS1005 and thank the MCQST for supporting us.