open_MODEX – Model experiment to compare and determine synergy potentials of open-source frameworks in energy system analysis

Partners Reiner Lemoine Institut
RWTH Aachen
TU Berlin
Europa-Universität Flensburg
Technical University of Denmark
Funding Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi)
Duration January 2019 to December 2021
Contact M.Sc. Soner Candas

 

Within the project open_MODEX, five open-source frameworks for energy system analysis are examined and compared. The goal of the project is to emphasize strengths and weaknesses of the frameworks as well as analyzation of similarities, differences and possible synergies. This should enable future modelers to easily choose a framework for their  research question.

The following five open-source frameworks will be compared:

·      oemof

·      urbs

·      GENESYS-2

·      GENeSYS-MOD

·      Balmorel

The Chair of Renewable and Sustainable Energy Systems is represented with its own developed framework urbs.

After having a closer look into the current stage of each framework, all frameworks will be compared in detail and tested with a standardized modeling task. A scenario analyzation will be done for all frameworks to equally compare their results. In doing so, differences and specialties in working with the frameworks will be a focus as well as how new users can easily be introduced and guided to use the framework.

Next to the comparison of mathematical description with respect to usage and results in case of equal input data, the frameworks will also be compared regarding development and improvement. Hence, parallel development of different open-source frameworks can be reduced and frameworks can be provided to a broader community. This increases transparency and robust solutions.

All input data and results from the open_MODEX project will be published under open licenses as far as possible and therefore can be used in other projects.

open_MODEX – Modellexperiment zum Vergleich und der Ermittlung von Synergiepotentialen von Open-Source-Frameworks in der Energiesystemanalyse

Partner Reiner Lemoine Institut
RWTH Aachen
TU Berlin
Europa-Universität Flensburg
Technical University of Denmark
Förderer Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi)
Zeitraum Januar 2019 bis Dezember 2021
Ansprechpartner M.Sc. Soner Candas
Homepage des Projekts reiner-lemoine-institut.de/open_modex/

 

Im Projekt open_MODEX werden fünf Open-Source-Frameworks zur Energiesystemanalyse untersucht und miteinander verglichen. Ziel ist es, Stärken und Schwächen der einzelnen Frameworks herauszustellen sowie Gemeinsamkeiten, Unterschiede und mögliche Synergien der Frameworks untereinander zu analysieren. Dadurch wird zukünftig die Auswahl geeigneter Modelle für konkrete Fragestellungen vereinfacht.

Verglichen werden folgende fünf Open-Source-Frameworks

·      oemof

·      urbs

·      GENESYS-2

·      GENeSYS-MOD

·      Balmorel

Der Lehrstuhl für Erneuerbare und Nachhaltige Energiesysteme ist mit dem am Lehrstuhl entwickelten Framework urbs im Projekt vertreten.

Nach einer Bestandsaufnahme der vorhandenen Frameworks werden sie im Detail miteinander verglichen und anhand einer standardisierten Modellierungsaufgabe gegeneinander getestet. Im Anschluss wird eine gemeinsame Szenarioanalyse aller Frameworks erstellt. Dabei suchen wir gezielt nach Unterschieden und Besonderheiten und testen die Handhabbarkeit der Frameworks. Wir wollen zudem Hürden für Neueinsteiger*innen erkennen und Empfehlungen für deren Abbau formulieren.

Neben dem inhaltlich-mathematischen Vergleich von Funktionsumfang und Ergebnissen bei gleicher Aufgabenstellung und Eingangsdaten wird auch die Entstehung der Frameworks und die Art der Weiterentwicklung und Verbesserung untersucht. Dadurch sollen Parallelentwicklung verschiedener Open-Source-Frameworks vermieden werden, und die Frameworks für eine möglichst große Community nutzbar werden. Dies erhöht die Transparenz und Robustheit der Berechnungsergebnisse.

Möglichst alle Eingangsdaten und Ergebnisse aus open_MODEX werden unter offenen Lizenzen auch für andere Projekte zur Verfügung gestellt