Integration of Renewable Energies ()

Lecturer (assistant)
Type
Duration4 SWS
TermSommersemester 2021
Position within curriculaSee TUMonline
DatesSee TUMonline

Objectives

Upon successful completion of the module, students are able to: - describe the challenges of a power system with a high share of renewable energies - understand the properties of renewable energies from a system perspective - analyze possible options to improve the integration of the renewable energies - understand the system behavior of renewable energies - analyze the influence of renewable power generation on operation of the conventional power plant park - assess renewable power generation in relation to electricity markets and the demand of balancing power

Description

The lecture is subdivided in an introduction and three main chapters (physical, system and market integration), which classify the different challenges of the integration of renewable energies in an existing electricity system: The introduction discusses the characteristics of fluctuating power generation from renewable energies and derives the resulting challenges for the system. Physical integration discusses (technical) options, which enable an adaption of the generation side and the demand side (grid, storage, demand side integration, etc.). System integration evaluates the possible contribution of renewable energies to provide ancillary services (balancing power, reactive power, inertia, etc.). Market integration explain the influence of an increasing share of renewables on the existing market participants and discusses alternative framework design options.

Prerequisites

Basic knowledge in: - renewable energy technologies (hydro, wind, photovoltaic, biomass, geothermal) - power generation and transportation in large quantities in future energy supply scenarios - fossil and renewable energy carriers - regulation frameworks in electricity markets - political and social aspects in energy systems

Teaching and learning methods

Lecture: beamer and partly blackboard presentations with teacher centered teaching Tutorials: Calculations (by hand or PC based) as well as reading assignments which are both discussed in lessons

Examination

The module exam consists of a written exam (60 min). The goal of the exam is to test with questions if the students are able to reproduce general challenges regarding the integration of renewable energies. With calculations on simple examples the capability of working with this general knowledge on specific questions is tested. The exam will be graded.

Recommended literature

IEA: The Power of Transformation, 2014

Links

Integration of Renewable Energies ()

Vortragende/r (Mitwirkende/r)
Umfang4 SWS
SemesterSommersemester 2021
UnterrichtsspracheDeutsch
TermineSiehe TUMonline

Lernziele

Nach dem erfolgreichen Abschluss des Moduls ist der Studierende in der Lage: - die Herausforderungen eines Energiesystems mit einem hohen Anteil an erneuerbaren Energien zu beschreiben - die Eigenschaften von erneuerbaren Energien aus Systemperspektive zu verstehen - mögliche Optionen, die die Integration erneuerbarer Energien verbessern, zu analysieren - das Systemverhalten von erneuerbaren Energien zu verstehen - den Einfluss erneuerbarer Energieerzeugung auf die konventionellen Kraftwerke zu analysieren - erneuerbare Energieerzeugung in Bezug auf Strommärkte und den Bedarf an Regelleistung zu bewerten

Beschreibung

Die Vorlesung ist in ein Einführung und drei Hauptkapitel (Physikalische-, System- und Markt-Integration) gegliedert, welche die verschiedenen Herausforderungen im Rahmen der Integration der erneuerbaren Energien in ein existierendes Stromsystem klassifizieren: In der Einführung werden die Eigenschaften fluktuierender Stromerzeugung aus erneuerbaren Energien diskutiert und die daraus resultierenden Herausforderungen für das System abgeleitet. Physikalische Integration diskutiert (technische) Möglichkeiten, welche die Anpassung von Erzeugungs- und Verbrauchsseite ermöglichen (Netze, Speicherung, Lastmanagement, etc.). System-Integration bewertet den möglichen Beitrag von erneuerbaren Energien zu Systemdienstleistungen (Regelleistung, Blindleistung, Momentanreserve, etc.). Markt-Integration erklärt den Einfluss eines steigenden Anteils an erneuerbaren Energien auf die bestehenden Märkte in Stromsystemen und deren Teilnehmer. Zusätzlich werden alternative Marktkonzepte diskutiert.

Inhaltliche Voraussetzungen

Grundkenntnisse über: - Erneuerbare Energietechnologien (Wasserkraft, Wind, Photovoltaik, Biomasse, Geothermie) - Stromerzeugung und -transport in verschiedenen Szenarien der zukünftigen Energieversorgung - Fossile und erneuerbare Energieträger - Ordnungsrahmen in Strommärkten - Politische und soziale Aspekte in Energiesystemen

Lehr- und Lernmethoden

Vorlesung : Vorträge, Präsentationen und Tafelarbeit als Frontalunterricht Übung: Berechnungen (per Hand oder PC-gestützt) und Literatur werden in den Übungsstunden diskutiert

Studien-, Prüfungsleistung

Die Modulprüfung besteht aus einer schriftlichen Klausur (60 min). In der Prüfung wird mittels Fragen das Verständnis überprüft, ob die Studierenden die grundsätzlichen Herausforderungen bei der Integration der Erneuerbaren Energien wiedergeben können. Mit der Berechnung einfacher Beispiele wird überprüft, inwieweit das Wissen auf konkrete Fragen angewendet werden kann. Die Prüfung wird benotet.

Empfohlene Literatur

IEA: The Power of Transformation, 2014

Links