Mathematical Modeling for expansion and dispatch planning in modern energy systems ()

Lecturer (assistant)
Duration4 SWS
TermWintersemester 2021/22
Language of instructionEnglish
DatesSee TUMonline

Objectives

Upon successful completion of the module the participants understand the fundamentals of unit commitment and expansion planning with help of optimization methods. Additionally, they can set up (non-)linear optimization problems in the application of energy system analysis (e.g. Optimal Power Flow). Mixed-integer formulations for unit commitment can be drawed and suitable solution algorithms can be applied and characterized.

Description

Fundamental problems of unit commitment, expansion planning and optimal power flow, theoretical background for solving these problems: Nonlinear Optimization ((Un-)Constrained Optimization, Lagrange function), Lagrangian Duality (primal and dual problem, strong and weak duality), Graph theory, Mixed-Integer optimization (Fundamentals, Solution algorithms), Application of theory to typical problems of energy system analysis

Prerequisites

Fundamentals of higher mathematics and physics, Modul EI7448 Modeling of energy systems

Teaching and learning methods

Typical problems of expansion and dispatch planning are discussed during the lecture. Concepts for solving these problems with using optimization theory are presented during the lecture and emphasized with help of examples. Solving the tutorial sheets the students learn the usage of typical problems. During the tutorial the solution steps are highlighted.

Examination

The exam will be written. The focus lies on arithmetic and math word problems to test the teached methods in the context of energy systems analysis.

Recommended literature

Combinatorial Optimization: Theory and Algorithms, Bernhard Korte, Springer, 2012 http://dx.doi.org/10.1007/978-3-642-24488-9 Nonlinear and Mixed-Integer Optimization - Fundamentals and Application, Christodoulos Floudas, Oxford University Press, 1995

Links

Mathematische Methoden zur Ausbau- und Einsatzplanung in modernen Energiesystemen ()

Vortragende/r (Mitwirkende/r)
Umfang4 SWS
SemesterWintersemester 2021/22
UnterrichtsspracheEnglisch
TermineSiehe TUMonline

Lernziele

Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss des Moduls verstehen die Studierenden die Grundlagen der Kraftwerkseinsatzplanung und der Modellierung des Ausbauplanung mit Hilfe von Optimierungsmethoden. Weiterhin können sie (nicht-)lineare Optimierungsprobleme für den Anwendungsbereich der Energiesystemanalyse (z.B. Optimaler Lastfluss) aufstellen. Gemischt-ganzzahlige Formulierungen für die Kraftwerkseinsatzplanung können von den Teilnehmern erarbeitet werden und geeignete Lösungsalgorithmen angewendet und charakterisiert werden.

Beschreibung

Grundsätzliche Problemstellungen der Kraftwerkseinsatz- und Ausbauplanung und des Lastflusses, Theoretische Hintergründe zum Lösen dieser Probleme: Nichtlineare Optimierung (Probleme mit und ohne Nebenbedingungen, Lagrange Funktion), Lagrange Dualität (Primales und duales Problem, Schwache und starke Dualität), Graphentheorie, Gemischt-ganzzahlige Optimierung (Grundlagen, Lösungsmethoden), Anwendung der Theorie auf Problemstellungen der Energiesystemtechnik (z.B. Optimaler Lastfluss, Kraftwerkseinsatzplanung, Netzausbau)

Inhaltliche Voraussetzungen

Grundlagen Höhere Mathematik und Physik, Modul EI7448 Modellierung von Energiesystemen

Lehr- und Lernmethoden

Die Problemstellungen aus der Ausbau- und Einsatzplanung werden in der Vorlesung erörtert. Konzepte zum Lösen dieser Problemstellungen werden mit Hilfe von Optimierungstheorie in der Vorlesung vorgestellt und mit Beispielen verdeutlicht. Mit Hilfe von Übungsblättern lernen die Studierenden den Umgang mit den Problemstellungen, die sie in Einzelarbeit lösen. Innerhalb der Übung werden die Schritte zur Lösung noch einmal ausführlich erläutert.

Studien-, Prüfungsleistung

Die Modulprüfung wird schriftlich abgehalten. Im Fokus stehen Rechen- und Textaufgaben zur Abprüfung der Methoden in der Kraftwerkseinsatzplanung und der Optimierungsverfahren im Kontext der Energiesystemanalyse. Das Beantworten der Fragen erfordert teils eigene Formulierungen und teils das Ankreuzen von vorgegebenen Mehrfachantworten.

Empfohlene Literatur

Linear Programming and Network Flows; M. Bazaraa, J. Jarvis, H. Sherali; Third Edition; 2011; http://dx.doi.org/10.1002/9780471703778 A Textbook of Graph Theory; R. Balakrishnan, K. Ranganathan; 2012; http://dx.doi.org/10.1007/978-1-4614-4529-6 Integer Programming; M. Conforti, G. Cornuéjols, G. Zambelli; 2014; http://dx.doi.org/10.1007/978-3-319-11008-0

Links