Modeling of energy systems ()

Lecturer (assistant)
Duration4 SWS
TermSommersemester 2021
Language of instructionGerman
DatesSee TUMonline

Objectives

The participants understand various approaches for modeling energy systems. They therefore acquire the necessary knowledge in optimization, economics and game theory. They have basic knowledge about quantitative system models. They understand the problem of data acquisition and learn to gauge data quality. From this basis, students are able to create new models. They are capable of understanding and assessing models used in practice.

Description

Introduction in mathematical modeling and its application to energy systems, Mathematical optimization as an important tool for energy models, Fundamentals of economics and important concepts of energy economics, General equilibrium theory and game theory with regard to energy and environment problems, System theory applied to global scope, Insights into modeling practice and its data requirements

Prerequisites

Bachelor in natural sciences or engineering (fundamentals of higher mathematics and physics)

Teaching and learning methods

Lectures, presentations and blackboard Written exercise questions are to solved independently first and then discussed together.

Examination

Examination with the following parts: Module examination by written exam. Theoretical knowledge is tested with short answer questions as well as multiple choice. In order to check the knowledge on algorithms and applications the students have to perform calculations in the exam. Essay-type questions are given to test for methodological knowledge on data quality and model applications, within others. The written exam will be graded.

Recommended literature

Thie 2008, Introduction to Linear Programming and Game Theory, Wiley Bhattacharyya 2011, Energy Economics, Springer Erdmann 2010, Energieökonomik, Springer Mankiw 2011 – Economics, South-Western Bofinger – Grundzüge der Volkswirtschaftslehre, Pearson Samuelson, Nordhaus 2005 – Economics, McGraw-Hill Club of Rome – Die Grenzen des Wachstums, 1972 More literature recommendations can be found in the lecture notes.

Links

Modellierung von Energiesystemen ()

Vortragende/r (Mitwirkende/r)
Umfang4 SWS
SemesterSommersemester 2021
UnterrichtsspracheDeutsch
TermineSiehe TUMonline

Lernziele

Die Studierenden verstehen verschiedene Ansätze zur Modellierung von Energiesystemen. Die Studierenden erlangen hierzu die notwendigen Kenntnisse in Optimierung, Ökonomie sowie Spieltheorie. Sie verfügen über grundlegende Kenntnisse quantitativer Systemmodelle. Sie verstehen die Problematik der notwendigen Datenbeschaffung und lernen die Datenqualität abzuschätzen. Auf dieser Grundlage werden die Studierenden zur Erstellung eigener Modelle befähigt. Sie sind in der Lage, die in der Praxis eingesetzten Modelle verstehen und bewerten.

Beschreibung

Einführung in die mathematische Modellbildung und deren Anwendung auf Energiesysteme, Mathematische Optimierung als wichtiges Werkzeug für Energiemodelle, Grundlagen der Wirtschaftswissenschaften sowie wichtige Konzepte der Energieökonomik, Allgemeine Gleichgewichtstheorie sowie Spieltheorie im Hinblick auf Energie und Umweltprobleme, Systemtheorie auf globaler Ebene, Einblick in die Praxis der Modellierung sowie der notwendigen Datengrundlage

Inhaltliche Voraussetzungen

Abgeschlossenes naturwissenschaftliches oder ingenieurwissenschaftliches Bachelorstudium (Grundlagen Höhere Mathematik und Physik)

Lehr- und Lernmethoden

Vorträge, Präsentationen und Tafelarbeit Übungsaufgaben werden zunächst von Studierenden selbstständig bearbeitet und dann in Übungsstunde erörtert.

Studien-, Prüfungsleistung

Modulprüfung mit folgenden Bestandteilen: Die Modulprüfung besteht aus einer Klausur zur Vorlesung. Kurzfragen sowie Multiple-Choice dienen zur Prüfung der theoretischen Kenntnisse. Rechenaufgaben überprüfen die Beherrschung der vorgestellten Anwendungen und Algorithmen. Textaufgaben prüfen die Methodenkompetenz, unter anderem bei der Bewertung von Datenqualität sowie hinsichtlich der praktischen Modellanwendung. Die Klausur wird benotet.

Empfohlene Literatur

Thie 2008, Introduction to Linear Programming and Game Theory, Wiley Bhattacharyya 2011, Energy Economics, Springer Erdmann 2010, Energieökonomik, Springer Mankiw 2011 – Economics, South-Western Bofinger – Grundzüge der Volkswirtschaftslehre, Pearson Samuelson, Nordhaus 2005 – Economics, McGraw-Hill Club of Rome – Die Grenzen des Wachstums, 1972 Weitere Literaturempfehlungen in den Vorlesungsunterlagen

Links