Public participation process for energy infrastructure projects (Lecture)

Lecturer (assistant)
Duration1 SWS
TermSommersemester 2021
Language of instructionGerman
DatesSee TUMonline

Objectives

Students are able to name different theories of democracy and assign political systems to these theories. Students know the tools of public participation. They have a good understanding of LCA and are able to apply LCA to different projects. The can write an expert opinion based on an LCA, which can be used as material for a public participation process. They can judge the complex situation of a public participation process and learn the limits of scientific arguments in public debates.

Description

The module contains two parts: I) For block lectures with 4 hours of lecture II) A three day long role play in after the lecture period The first part contains the following parts: I.1) Theory of democracy, foundations and methods of public participation I.2) Life Cylce Assessment (LCA) as basis for environmental and health assessments of projects and products I.3) Methods and tools of LCA I.4) Design of an LCA as basis for a public participation process by means of examples Part II is made up of a three-day long role-play. On the first day, a project is identified and the necessary information is collected. Recommendations for a public participation process are prepared. On the second day, a public assembly is simulated with an expert hearing. A special role is assigned to each participant. Other students are asked to participate as civilians. All discussions are recorded. On the third day, the recordings are analysed and refinements of the expert materials are discussed.

Teaching and learning methods

The lectures consist of frontal lessons and discussions. The method of Life Cycle Analysis (LCA) is deepened by practical exercises on the computer. The students learn and practice the techniques using different test cases using Excel and relevant databases for LCA. The special meaning of the role play is to reverse the view of experts and citizens. In the future, students will rather play the role of the expert, but in this course they will learn about the situation of different groups involved in the process by reversing the roles.

Examination

At the end of the semester, a 20 page long report needs to hands in. A precise format will be supplied at the beginning of the lecture. The report is the technical description of a new project, either a geothermal or an infrastructure project. The report can be used as basis for a participation process. The report should utilise a simple LCA to estimate the impact of the project on human health and the environment.

Links

Public participation process for energy infrastructure projects (Exercise)

Lecturer (assistant)
Duration2 SWS
TermSommersemester 2019
Language of instructionGerman
DatesSee TUMonline

Objectives

Students are able to name different theories of democracy and assign political systems to these theories. Students know the tools of public participation. They have a good understanding of LCA and are able to apply LCA to different projects. The can write an expert opinion based on an LCA, which can be used as material for a public participation process. They can judge the complex situation of a public participation process and learn the limits of scientific arguments in public debates.

Description

The module contains two parts: I) For block lectures with 4 hours of lecture II) A three day long role play in after the lecture period The first part contains the following parts: I.1) Theory of democracy, foundations and methods of public participation I.2) Life Cylce Assessment (LCA) as basis for environmental and health assessments of projects and products I.3) Methods and tools of LCA I.4) Design of an LCA as basis for a public participation process by means of examples Part II is made up of a three-day long role-play. On the first day, a project is identified and the necessary information is collected. Recommendations for a public participation process are prepared. On the second day, a public assembly is simulated with an expert hearing. A special role is assigned to each participant. Other students are asked to participate as civilians. All discussions are recorded. On the third day, the recordings are analysed and refinements of the expert materials are discussed.

Teaching and learning methods

The lectures consist of frontal lessons and discussions. The method of Life Cycle Analysis (LCA) is deepened by practical exercises on the computer. The students learn and practice the techniques using different test cases using Excel and relevant databases for LCA. The special meaning of the role play is to reverse the view of experts and citizens. In the future, students will rather play the role of the expert, but in this course they will learn about the situation of different groups involved in the process by reversing the roles.

Examination

At the end of the semester, a 20 page long report needs to hands in. A precise format will be supplied at the beginning of the lecture. The report is the technical description of a new project, either a geothermal or an infrastructure project. The report can be used as basis for a participation process. The report should utilise a simple LCA to estimate the impact of the project on human health and the environment.

Links

Bürgerbeteiligungsverfahren zum Aufbau der Energieinfrastruktur (Vorlesung)

Vortragende/r (Mitwirkende/r)
Umfang1 SWS
SemesterSommersemester 2021
UnterrichtsspracheDeutsch
TermineSiehe TUMonline

Lernziele

Die Studierende können verschiedene Demokratietheorien benennen und politische Systeme diesbezüglich einordnen. Sie kennen die Techniken der Bürgerbeteiligung und haben ein gutes Verständnis der LCA und können diese auf Projekte anwenden. Sie können mit der LCA ein Gutachten erstellen, das als Grundlage für ein Bürgerbeteiligungsverfahren dienen kann. Sie verstehen die komplexe Situation einer Anhörung und lernen die begrenzten Möglichkeiten wissenschaftlicher Argumentation in politischen Verfahren kennen.

Beschreibung

Das Modul ist aus zwei Teilen aufgebaut: I) Vier Blockvorlesungen mit jeweils vier Vorlesungen II) Einem dreitägigen Planspiel nach Ende der Vorlesungszeit Teil I zerfällt in die folgenden Teile: I.1) Demokratietheorie, Grundlagen und Techniken der Bürgerbeteiligung I.2) Lebenszyklusanalyse (LCA) als Grundlage zur Umwelt- und Gesundheitsbewertung von Projekten und Produkten. I.3) Methoden und Werkzeuge der LCA I.4) Aufbau einer LCA als Grundlage für ein Bürgerbeteiligungsverfahren anhand ausgewählter Beispiele Teil II besteht aus einem dreitägigen Planspiel. Dabei wird am ersten Tag gemeinsam ein Projekt bestimmt und die notwendigen Informationen beschafft. Dabei werden Gutachten für eine Bürgerversammlung vorbereitet. Am zweiten Tag wird eine Versammlung mit Gutachtern gespielt. Dabei werden den Teilnehmern verschiedene Rollen zugewiesen und weitere Studierende werden als „Bürger“ teilnehmen. Die Diskussionen werden auf Video aufgezeichnet. Am dritten Tag werden die Aufzeichnungen analysiert und Verbesserungsvorschläge für die Bereitstellung der Gutachten erarbeitet.

Lehr- und Lernmethoden

Die Vorlesung ist ein Wechsel aus Frontalunterricht und Diskussionen. Die Methode der LCA wird durch umfangreiche praktische Übungen auch am Computer vertieft. Die Studierenden lernen und üben dabei die Techniken anhand unterschiedliche Beispielfälle mittels Excel und einschlägigen Datenbanken für Lebenszyklusanalysen. Die besondere Bedeutung des Rollenspieles besteht darin, die Sicht Experte-Bürger umzukehren. Die Studierenden werden in Zukunft eher die Rolle des Experten einnehmen, lernen aber im Spiel durch Umkehr der Rollen die Situation verschiedener am Verfahren beteiligter Gruppen kennen.

Studien-, Prüfungsleistung

Am Ende des Sommersemesters muss ein etwa 20-seitiger Bericht abgegeben werden, der die technische Beschreibung eines Geothermie- oder Infrastrukturprojektes, die als Grundlage für ein Beteiligungsverfahren genutzt werden kann, enthält. Dabei soll insbesondere mit einem einfachen LCA-Verfahren die Umwelt- und Gesundheitsauswirkungen beschrieben werden.

Links

Bürgerbeteiligungsverfahren zum Aufbau der Energieinfrastruktur (Übung)

Vortragende/r (Mitwirkende/r)
Umfang2 SWS
SemesterSommersemester 2019
UnterrichtsspracheDeutsch
TermineSiehe TUMonline

Lernziele

Die Studierende können verschiedene Demokratietheorien benennen und politische Systeme diesbezüglich einordnen. Sie kennen die Techniken der Bürgerbeteiligung und haben ein gutes Verständnis der LCA und können diese auf Projekte anwenden. Sie können mit der LCA ein Gutachten erstellen, das als Grundlage für ein Bürgerbeteiligungsverfahren dienen kann. Sie verstehen die komplexe Situation einer Anhörung und lernen die begrenzten Möglichkeiten wissenschaftlicher Argumentation in politischen Verfahren kennen.

Beschreibung

Das Modul ist aus zwei Teilen aufgebaut: I) Vier Blockvorlesungen mit jeweils vier Vorlesungen II) Einem dreitägigen Planspiel nach Ende der Vorlesungszeit Teil I zerfällt in die folgenden Teile: I.1) Demokratietheorie, Grundlagen und Techniken der Bürgerbeteiligung I.2) Lebenszyklusanalyse (LCA) als Grundlage zur Umwelt- und Gesundheitsbewertung von Projekten und Produkten. I.3) Methoden und Werkzeuge der LCA I.4) Aufbau einer LCA als Grundlage für ein Bürgerbeteiligungsverfahren anhand ausgewählter Beispiele Teil II besteht aus einem dreitägigen Planspiel. Dabei wird am ersten Tag gemeinsam ein Projekt bestimmt und die notwendigen Informationen beschafft. Dabei werden Gutachten für eine Bürgerversammlung vorbereitet. Am zweiten Tag wird eine Versammlung mit Gutachtern gespielt. Dabei werden den Teilnehmern verschiedene Rollen zugewiesen und weitere Studierende werden als „Bürger“ teilnehmen. Die Diskussionen werden auf Video aufgezeichnet. Am dritten Tag werden die Aufzeichnungen analysiert und Verbesserungsvorschläge für die Bereitstellung der Gutachten erarbeitet.

Lehr- und Lernmethoden

Die Vorlesung ist ein Wechsel aus Frontalunterricht und Diskussionen. Die Methode der LCA wird durch umfangreiche praktische Übungen auch am Computer vertieft. Die Studierenden lernen und üben dabei die Techniken anhand unterschiedliche Beispielfälle mittels Excel und einschlägigen Datenbanken für Lebenszyklusanalysen. Die besondere Bedeutung des Rollenspieles besteht darin, die Sicht Experte-Bürger umzukehren. Die Studierenden werden in Zukunft eher die Rolle des Experten einnehmen, lernen aber im Spiel durch Umkehr der Rollen die Situation verschiedener am Verfahren beteiligter Gruppen kennen.

Studien-, Prüfungsleistung

Am Ende des Sommersemesters muss ein etwa 20-seitiger Bericht abgegeben werden, der die technische Beschreibung eines Geothermie- oder Infrastrukturprojektes, die als Grundlage für ein Beteiligungsverfahren genutzt werden kann, enthält. Dabei soll insbesondere mit einem einfachen LCA-Verfahren die Umwelt- und Gesundheitsauswirkungen beschrieben werden.

Links