Sustainable Mobility ()

Lecturer (assistant)
Duration3 SWS
TermSommersemester 2021
Language of instructionGerman
DatesSee TUMonline

Objectives

After completing the course, students will be able to - describe the various terms of sustainability and to assess the different approaches critically - investigation of existing and conventional mobility solutions in context of sustainability - analysis of energy economic relations of mobility solutions, e.g. integration of electric vehicles in power grids, cumulative energy demand, life cycle analysis, substitution of crude oil by electricity - evaluation of new business models in context of multimodal transport, car sharing, autonomous cars, electric mobility

Description

The lecture will cover the relevant questions concerning sustainable mobility: - term sustainability and its definitions: social, ecological and economic sustainability and possibilities for quantification - life cycle analysis and cumulative energy demand of conventional vehicles compared with new vehicle concepts - lack of sustainability of existing mobility: crude oil, geopolitics, greenhouse gas emissions, smog, measures for mitigation - sustainability of electric vehicles: impacts on power grids - evolution from assisted driving to autonomous driving: development of vehicle miles of travel, energy consumption in the mobility sector, economic benefits and costs - multimodal transport solutions for motorized, non-motorized private and public transport - new business models in the mobility sector and use cases of autonomous cars

Prerequisites

Fundamentals about: - energy systems - renewable energies

Teaching and learning methods

The lectures will be conducted supported by beamer and blackboard presentations with teacher-centered teaching. Complex details will be deduced with the PC or on the blackboard. The lecture will make discussions possible. The central issues will be summarized after each lecture. The exercise will take place every two weeks. The exercise’s purpose is two repeat and broaden the contents of the lectures.

Examination

The module exam consists of a 60 minutes written exam about the lecture. Its purpose is to determine to what extend the participants have reached the formulated outcomes.

Links

Sustainable Mobility (in English) (Exercise)

Lecturer (assistant)
Duration1 SWS
TermWintersemester 2020/21
Language of instructionEnglish
DatesSee TUMonline

Objectives

After completing of the course, the student is able to: - understand the term of sustainability - understand the challenge that mobility represents to sustainability - conduct a Life Cycle Analysis of different mobility options and assess the environmental impact (greenhouse gases, as well as other impacts) associated to different mobility systems from a life cycle approach - conduct a Life Cycle Cost Analysis of different mobility options - understand the socio-economic impacts of different systems using the macro-economic Input-Output Analysis.

Description

The lecture will cover the relevant questions concerning "sustainability" and "mobility" and methods to assess the sustainability of mobility systems. - term sustainability: definition of sustainability - tools for sustainability: (i) environmental life cycle analysis, (ii) life cycle cost analysis, (iii) social life cycle analysis and, (iv) socio-economic Input-Output Analysis. - sustainability deficits of existing mobility: oil based system, geo-politics, CO2-emissions, particulate emissions, noise, ... - new mobility concepts beyond technology: car sharing, inter modal transport - electric vehicles and smart grid: current situation and challenges for sustainability. - autonomous driving: current situation and challenges for sustainability - other alternative fuels: current situation and challenges for sustainability

Prerequisites

Fundamentals about: - energy systems - renewable energies

Teaching and learning methods

Case studies will be provided to the students, who will solve them using the methods learnt during the lectures The exercises will be solved by the students during the session. The students will be encouraged to participate in the discussions

Examination

The module exam consists of a 90-minute written exam, in which the students work on short word problems and multiple-choice questions on the different aspects of sustainability - especially with regard to the mobility sector. In addition, simple calculation tasks are used to check the mastery of the acquired procedures based on examples. In addition, students will use a case study to carry out the Life Cycle analysis using basic mathematical calculations. Word problems examine the understanding of the methods and the proper interpretation of results. The exam is graded and no other documents are allowed.

Recommended literature

- Life Cycle Assessment Handbook: A Guide for Environmentally Sustainable Products Editors(s):Mary Ann Curran First published:7 November 2012 Print ISBN:9781118099728 |Online ISBN:9781118528372 DOI:10.1002/9781118528372 Copyright © 2012 Scrivener Publishing LLC. All rights reserved.

Links

Nachhaltige Mobilität ()

Vortragende/r (Mitwirkende/r)
Umfang3 SWS
SemesterSommersemester 2021
UnterrichtsspracheDeutsch
TermineSiehe TUMonline

Lernziele

Nach Abschluss des Kurses ist der Student in der Lage, den Kurs zu absolvieren: - den Begriff der Nachhaltigkeit zu verstehen - die Herausforderung, die Mobilität für die Nachhaltigkeit darstellt, zu verstehen. - eine Lebenszyklusanalyse der verschiedenen Mobilitätsoptionen durchzuführen und die Umweltauswirkungen (Treibhausgase und andere Auswirkungen), die mit verschiedenen Mobilitätssystemen verbunden sind, anhand eines Lebenszyklusansatzes zu bewerten. - eine Lebenszykluskostenanalyse der verschiedenen Mobilitätsoptionen durchzuführen. - die sozioökonomischen Auswirkungen verschiedener Systeme mit Hilfe der makroökonomischen Input-Output-Analyse zu verstehen und abschätzen.

Beschreibung

Inhalt Die Vorlesung behandelt die relevanten Fragen zu "Nachhaltigkeit" und "Mobilität" sowie Methoden zur Bewertung der Nachhaltigkeit von Mobilitätssystemen. - Begriff Nachhaltigkeit: Definition von Nachhaltigkeit - Instrumente für die Nachhaltigkeit: (i) Lebenszyklusanalyse, (ii) Analyse der Lebenszykluskosten, (iii) Analyse des sozialen Lebensweges und (iv) sozioökonomische Input-Output-Analyse. - Nachhaltigkeitsdefizite bestehender Mobilität: Ölsystem, Geopolitik, CO2-Emissionen, Partikelemissionen, Lärm, ... - neue Mobilitätskonzepte jenseits der Technologie: Carsharing, intermodaler Verkehr - Elektrofahrzeuge und Smart Grid: aktuelle Situation und Herausforderungen für die Nachhaltigkeit. - autonomes Fahren: aktuelle Situation und Herausforderungen für die Nachhaltigkeit - andere alternative Kraftstoffe: aktuelle Situation und Herausforderungen für die Nachhaltigkeit

Inhaltliche Voraussetzungen

Grundkenntnisse über: - Energiesysteme - Erneuerbare Energien

Lehr- und Lernmethoden

Die Lehrinhalte werden mittels rechnergestützter Präsentation vorgetragen und vermittelt. Komplexere Sachverhalte werden dabei mithilfe von PC und Tafel hergeleitet und beschrieben. Während der Vorlesung ergeben sich Möglichkeiten zur Diskussion. Nach jeder Vorlesungseinheit werden den Studenten die wesentlichen Kernaussagen übergeben. Vortrag, Präsentation, Video, Tafelarbeit. Alle zwei Wochen findet eine Übung statt. Darin wird der Vorlesungsstoff durch Übungsaufgaben vertieft und diskutiert.

Studien-, Prüfungsleistung

Zum Semesterende findet eine schriftliche Prüfung mit einer Dauer von 90 Minuten statt. In der Prüfung wird der Stoff aus Vorlesung und Übung abgefragt.

Links

Sustainable Mobility (Übung)

Vortragende/r (Mitwirkende/r)
Umfang1 SWS
SemesterWintersemester 2020/21
UnterrichtsspracheEnglisch
TermineSiehe TUMonline

Lernziele

Nach Abschluss des Modulsist der Studierende dazu in der Lage: - den Begriff der Nachhaltigkeit zu verstehen. - die Herausforderung der Mobilität für die Nachhaltigkeit zu verstehen. - eine Lebenszyklusanalyse für verschiedene Mobilitätsoptionen durchzuführen und die Umweltauswirkungen (Treibhausgase sowie andere Auswirkungen) verschiedener Mobilitätssysteme aus einem Lebenszyklusansatz zu bewerten. - eine Lebenszykluskostenanalyse verschiedener Mobilitätsoptionen durchzuführen. - die sozioökonomischen Auswirkungen verschiedener Systeme mit Hilfe der makroökonomischen Input-Output-Analyse zu verstehen.

Beschreibung

Der Vortrag behandelt die relevanten Fragen zu "Nachhaltigkeit" und "Mobilität" sowie Methoden zur Bewertung der Nachhaltigkeit von Mobilitätssystemen. - Begriff Nachhaltigkeit: Definition von Nachhaltigkeit - Werkzeuge für Nachhaltigkeit: (i) Ökologische Lebenszyklusanalyse, (ii) Lebenszykluskostenanalyse, (iii) soziale Lebenszyklusanalyse und (iv) sozioökonomische Input-Output-Analyse. - Nachhaltigkeitsdefizite der bestehenden Mobilität: Ölsystem, Geopolitik, CO2-Emissionen, Partikelemissionen, Lärm,.... - neue Mobilitätskonzepte jenseits der Technik: Carsharing, intermodaler Verkehr - Elektrofahrzeuge und Smart Grid: aktuelle Situation und Herausforderungen für die Nachhaltigkeit. - Autonomes Fahren: aktuelle Situation und Herausforderungen für die Nachhaltigkeit - andere alternative Kraftstoffe: aktuelle Situation und Herausforderungen für die Nachhaltigkeit

Inhaltliche Voraussetzungen

Grundkenntnisse über: - Energiesysteme - Erneuerbare Energien

Lehr- und Lernmethoden

Die Studierenden werden mit Fallstudien konfrontiert, die sie mit den in den Vorlesungen erlernten Methoden lösen werden. Die Übungen werden von den Studierenden während der Session gelöst. Die Studenten werden ermutigt, an den Diskussionen teilzunehmen.

Studien-, Prüfungsleistung

Die Modulprüfung besteht aus einer 90-minütigen Klausur, in der die Studierenden kurze Text- und Multiple-Choice-Fragen zu den unterschiedlichen Aspekten der Nachhaltigkeit - vor allem in Hinblick auf den Mobilitätssektor bearbeiten. Zusätzlich dienen einfache Rechenaufgaben zur Überprüfung der Beherrschung der erlernten Verfahren anhand von Beispielen. Des Weiteren werden die Studierenden anhand einer Fallstudie mit Hilfe elementarer mathematischer Berechnungen eine Lebenszyklusanalyse durchführen. Mit Textaufgaben werden die Kenntnis der Methoden und die korrekte Interpretation der Ergebnisse überprüft. Die Klausur wird benotet und es sind keine Hilfsmittel zugelassen. Für Multiple-Choice-Aufgaben sind maximal 20% der Gesamtpunktezahl vorgesehen.

Links